Castiglione, Remy on Hall ballot

November, 30, 2009

Joe Castiglione, who is entering his 30th year of broadcasting baseball, the last 25 in the radio booth for the Red Sox, and Jerry Remy, who made an emotional return to the NESN TV booth last summer after being diagnosed with lung cancer, are among the active broadcasters fans can vote for on-line for the Baseball Hall of Fame's Frick Award, which honors the game's best announcers.

Castiglione's radio partner, Dave O'Brien, is also on the ballot, as is the legendary Ned Martin, who is on a list of former broadcasters that also includes Sean McDonough, Jim Woods, Bob Kurtz, Jerry Trupiano and Bob Montgomey among former Sox announcers.

On-line balloting begins Tuesday at 10 a.m. on the Hall's Facebook page ( and continues through 5 p.m. Dec. 31 (all times EST). The top three fan selections will appear on the final 10-name ballot for the award. The 2010 Frick Award winner will be selected by a 20-member committee, with the winner to be announced in early February. Tony Kubek was the 2009 winner and is one of 33 Frick winners, who are honored at the annual Hall induction ceremonies and are given a place in the museum's Scribes and Mikemen exhibit.

A minimum of 10 years of continuous major league service with a club, network or combination thereof is required to appear on the ballot. Fans are instructed to base their selections on four criteria: (1) longevity; (2) continuity with a club; (3) honors, including awards and national assignments, such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and (4) popularity with fans.

Gordon Edes

ESPN Staff Writer



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?