TCU RB named Doak Walker semifinalist

November, 11, 2010
TCU's Ed Wesley has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2010 Doak Walker Award, presented to the nation's top running back.

Wesley is one of just two sophomores on the list, joining Oregon's LaMichael James.

Wesley tops TCU with 988 yards rushing. He needs 12 yards to become the third-ranked Horned Frogs’ first 1,000-yard rusher since Robert Merrill (1,107) in 2003. Wesley is averaging 6.6 yards per carry with a team-high 11 touchdowns, finding the end zone in eight of third-ranked TCU's 10 games.

An Irving, Texas, native, Wesley is on pace for 1,284 yards. It would mark TCU's highest single-season rushing total since LaDainian Tomlinson won the 2000 Doak Walker Award with a nation’s best 2,158 yards.

Here are the other nine semifinalists:

John Clay, Wisconsin
Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State
Mark Ingram, Alabama
LaMichael James, Oregon
DeMarco Murray, Oklahoma
Bilal Powell, Louisville
Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon State
Vai Taua, Nevada
Daniel Thomas, Kansas State



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?