2018 Tour de France: Chris Froome aiming for history as Team Sky lineup named

Team Sky will look to defend the yellow jersey they have won for the last four consecutive years. Tim de Waele/Corbis via Getty Images

Chris Froome will lead Team Sky at the 2018 Tour de France after their lineup was named for the Grand Tour which starts on Saturday in Noirmoutier-en-l'Île.

The defending champion has won four of the last five yellow jerseys and will look to win a record-equaling fifth Tour de France title. Sky once again boast the strongest team in the race with Egan Bernal, Jonathan Castroviejo, Michal Kwiatkowski, Gianni Moscon, Wout Poels, Luke Rowe and Geraint Thomas playing supporting roles.

"The last 12 months have been the hardest but also the most incredible of my career," Froome said. "I've never started the Tour de France after riding the Giro d'Italia and it has meant a completely different approach to my season."

He admits to learning from his Vuelta success as he looks to join Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain as a five-time Tour France winner.

"I want to make history with a fifth Tour de France win and fourth consecutive Grand Tour. I am under no illusion about the challenge, but I am feeling ready and I couldn't ask for a better team to support me. "This is the biggest race in the year, in front of the most passionate cycling fans, and I can't wait to get racing."

They will once again be the team to beat but Mikel Landa who helped Froome to last year's victory joining two-time runner-up Nairo Quintana and Alejandro Valverde in spear-heading the Movistar attack. Australian Richie Porte, Romain Bardet, who finish third last year and Tom Dumoulin will also look to claim the coveted yellow jersey.