Anaheim's Mr. Clutch earns MVP

Vladimir Guerrero was Mr. Clutch down the stretch, and he deserves the MVP.

Originally Published: November 16, 2004
By Tony Gwynn | Special to ESPN Insider
The American League MVP race was wide open, but I expected Vladimir Guerrero to win it (his first). I thought the vote would be closer, though. Guerrero got 21 of 28 first-place votes.

Some Boston Red Sox fans aren't happy, I read online, because they felt that Manny Ramirez and David Ortiz (who finished third and fourth) should have gotten more recognition for their World Series-winning season. But the MVP award only takes into account the regular season.

The top five vote-getters figure to be in the MVP race again next year. Gary Sheffield (second place) and Miguel Tejada (fifth) had tremendous years. And all their clubs should be in the hunt next year, which bolsters anyone's MVP candidacy.