Schnellenberger created a monster

The University of Miami's journey to becoming a college football dynasty has been unique.

Updated: October 19, 2004, 1:33 PM ET
By Beano Cook | ESPN Insider
The book "'Cane Mutiny" -- written, we should note, by ESPN The Magazine's Bruce Feldman, a Miami graduate -- is an insightful and interesting account of the University of Miami's improbable journey to becoming a college football dynasty.

Miami's road to extraordinary success has been unique, indeed.

From 1983-2002, Miami played for the national title eight times. That in itself is amazing, but it's even more impressive considering four different coaches combined to win five national championships -- Howard Schnellenberger in 1983, Jimmy Johnson in 1987, Dennis Erickson in 1989 and '91 and Larry Coker in 2001.

That shows Miami's support system and recruiting attractiveness is as responsible as the respective coaches.

But there were plenty of growing pains along the way.

Beano Cook

College Football
Carroll H. "Beano" Cook joined ESPN in March 1986 and served as a college football studio commentator and occasional sideline reporter, in addition to offering college football commentary on ESPN Radio. He died in October 2012.