2017 Indonesian Super League
  • Barito Putera (18')
  • Bali United (90'+2')

Bali United draw at Barito, miss chance to go top

Sylvano Comvalius saved Bali United once again on Wednesday night as his 33rd goal of the season earned the title hopefuls a 1-1 draw at Barito Putera, but his team missed the chance to go top of the Indonesia Liga 1.

Three points would have put the islanders ahead of leaders PSM Makassar on goal difference with three games of the season left to play. Instead, Bali stay third, level on points with Bhayangkara.

It could have been worse as Bali were second best for much of the game at the home of an energetic Barito, looking to finish the season in the top six.

The visitors got off to a poor start as Willian Lira nipped in behind a sleepy defence to turn home Nazar Nurzaidin's cross after 18 minutes.

Barito missed a number of chances to kill off the game, and were left to rue such wastefulness deep into added time.

Yandi Munawar crossed from the right and the ball fell to Comvalius at the far post. The Dutchman's low shot evaded Bali goalkeeper Aditya Harlan for what could be a crucial strike.

"Of course, we came here looking for three points," Bali coach Widodo Putro said. "We are relieved to get the point in the end and now we have to look forward to Sriwijaya on Monday."

Earlier in the week. PSM moved into pole position above the inactive Bhayangkara who saw their game at Madura United postponed. Robert Alberts' side won 3-1 at home to struggling Persiba Balikpapan.

PSM are two points clear of Bhayangkara, but the second-placed team have four games remaining, one more than the leaders.

The hopes of Persipura were dashed, thanks to a 2-1 defeat at Perseru Serui that leaves them five points off the pace in fourth.

That win lifted Perseru out of the relegation zone above the struggling Semen Padang. The two teams meet on Saturday.

Indonesian Super League Standings

1 Bali United 34 +13 64
2 Persebaya Surabaya 34 +14 54
3 Persipura 34 +9 53
4 Bhayangkara Surabaya 34 +8 53
5 Madura United 34 +11 53
6 Persib 34 +10 51
7 Pusamania Borneo 34 +13 51
8 PSS Sleman 34 +3 48
9 Arema Indonesia 34 -3 46
10 Persija 34 +1 44
11 Persela 34 +2 44
12 PSM Makassar 34 0 44
13 Barito Putera 34 -6 43
14 PSIS Semarang 34 -5 43
15 TIRA-Persikabo 34 -6 42
16 Badak Lampung 34 -30 33
17 Semen Padang 34 -13 32
18 Kalteng Putra 34 -21 31