2017 Indonesian Super League
  • Bali United (90')

Stefano Lilipaly takes Bali United top in Indonesia

A 95th-minute strike from Stefano Lilipaly gave Bali United a 1-0 win at PSM Makassar to put the islanders on top of the Indonesia Liga 1 table in the penultimate round of the season on Monday evening.

With the game heading for a 0-0 draw that would have suited previous leaders Bhayangkara, the Dutch-born midfielder scored the only goal of the game.

The win puts United two points clear at the top, though Bhayangkara, in second, have a game in hand. The first is a re-arranged match at Madura United on Wednesday.

The loss leaves PSM three points off the pace in third, and almost certainly out of the running.

The headlines will belong to Lilipaly, but the real star of the show was Bali goalkeeper Wawan Hendrawan who pulled off a series of top-class saves to deny an ever-increasing number of disbelieving home attackers.

PSM continued to have chances to win the game to go top themselves, but were caught by a deadly counterattack in the final seconds.

A long ball out of defence freed Sylvano Comvalius on the right. The league's top goalscorer rolled over a perfect pass for Lilipaly to get what could be the decisive strike in the title race from close range.

It was an ironic finish as the two Bali players had squared up to each other in the first half after Lilipaly had failed to pass to the striker.

Comvalius pushed and shoved his teammate and the two had to be separated by other Bali players. The Dutch striker used a more constructive method of showing how it should be done in the final seconds to give Bali a great chance of the title.

Bali's final game of the season comes at home to bottom club Gresik United on Sunday. Assuming United are victorious, Bhayangkara will have to win both of their remaining games to take the title.

Indonesian Super League Standings

1 Bali United 32 +16 64
2 Persipura 32 +8 49
3 Pusamania Borneo 32 +13 49
4 Persebaya Surabaya 32 +12 48
5 Bhayangkara Surabaya 32 +6 47
6 Madura United 31 +12 47
7 Persib 32 +3 45
8 PSS Sleman 32 0 44
9 PSM Makassar 32 +3 43
10 Arema Indonesia 32 -1 43
11 TIRA-Persikabo 32 -3 41
12 PSIS Semarang 31 -5 40
13 Barito Putera 32 -8 40
14 Persela 32 0 40
15 Persija 31 -4 38
16 Badak Lampung 32 -25 33
17 Kalteng Putra 32 -18 31
18 Semen Padang 31 -9 31